Mrs. Helen M. Owhonda-Wopara (HND, ACIS, MBA, M.Sc, FCNA, FCTI) joined the services of the University of Port Harcourt in 1982 as a Higher Executive Officer Accounts. She has headed various Units in the Bursary Department since 1982 till date: Head, Main Accounts Unit (1982 – 1985); Head, Treasury Unit (1985 – 1986); Head, Students Accounts Unit (1986 – 1989); Head, Treasury Unit (1990 – 1992); Head, Payroll, Pension and Gratuity Unit, (1994 – 1997); Head of General Finance Unit, (1997–1998); Head, Personal Emolument/Pensions and Gratuity (1998 – 2000); College Accountant, College of Continuing Education (2000 – 2005); Head, Pension, Insurance and Passages Unit (2005 – 2010); Deputy Bursar, Head of Accounts Unit, School of Graduate Studies (2010 – 2011); Deputy Bursar Budget, Head of the University Budget (2011 – Feb. 2018).She also held several responsibilities within the University and at large. Member of  University Convocation Committee (1996 – 2000); Member Junior Staff Disciplinary Committee (1987 – 2004); Member Board of Trustees for Person and Gratuities, (1995 – 2000); Member Board of Survey, (1996 – 2000); Member, Staff Housing Loan Committee, (1993 – 1998); Member, Junior Staff Committee, University of Port Harcourt, (1997 – 2004); Hall Warden – Goodluck Jonathan Hall (Female Hostel) (2008 – 2012); Member of  University Convocation Committee (2016 – till date).Board Member, University Demonstration Secondary School, University of   Port Harcourt (2005 – till date); Member. Finance and General Purpose Committee (F&GPC) University of Port Harcourt Demonstration Secondary School, (2005 – till date). Congregation Representative, A&PC (Junior Staff); Attended Various Seminar, Workshops and Conferences.She is presently the Acting Bursar of the University of Port Harcourt. She is a Fellow, Certified National Accountant (FCNA), (2). Fellow, Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (FCTI), Associate, Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ACIS), HND (Business Studies), MBA (Accounting), MBA (Finance and Banking), M.Sc (Accounting).She was appointed into the Board of U&C Microfinance Bank Ltd in Feb. 2018.